Shopping Cart

0
Anne-Sophie Mutter

Anne-Sophie Mutter

For more than 35 years, violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter has sustained a career of exceptional musicianship with an unwavering commitment to the future of classical music. 

For more than 35 years, violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter has sustained a career of exceptional musicianship with an unwavering commitment to the future of classical music. Since her international debut at the Lucerne Festival in 1976, followed by a solo appearance with Herbert von Karajan at the Salzburg Whitsun Concerts, Ms. Mutter has appeared in all the major concert halls of Europe, North and South America and Asia. In addition to performing and recording the established masterpieces of the violin repertoire, Ms. Mutter is an avid champion of 20th- and 21st-century violin repertoire in both orchestral and chamber music settings. Cited by The Chicago Tribune for doing more than "any living violinist to enrich the late 20th-Century violin repertory," Ms. Mutter has had new works composed for her by Sebastian Currier, Henri Dutilleux, Sofia Gubaidulina, Witold Lutoslawski, Norbert Moret, Krzysztof Penderecki, Sir André Previn and Wolfgang Rihm. She also devotes her time to numerous charity projects and supports the development of young, exceptionally talented musicians.

Anne-Sophie Mutter has also been awarded the Deutscher Schallplattenpreis, the Record Academy prize, the Grand Prix du Disque, the Internationaler Schallplattenpreis as well as several Grammys. On the occasion of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's 250th birthday, Anne-Sophie Mutter presented new recordings of all Mozart's important works for the violin. In September 2008, her recording of the Gubaidulina Violin Concerto "In tempus praesens" with the London Symphony Orchestra directed by Valéry Gergiev and of the Bach Violin concertos in A minor and E major with the Trondheim soloists directed by the violinist were published. On the occasion of the Mendelssohn memorial year in 2009, Anne-Sophie Mutter paid tribute to the composer with a highly personal homage, uniting solo concert repertoire and chamber music on CD and DVD: the F major Violin Sonata from 1838, the Piano Trio in D minor completed a year later and the E minor Violin Concerto dating from 1845. Anne-Sophie Mutter's recording of the Brahms violin sonatas with Lambert Orkis was published in March 2010.

On the occasion of the violinist's 35th stage anniversary, Deutsche Grammophon launched a comprehensive boxed set with all the artist's DG recordings, extensive documentation and recordings of rare items hitherto unpublished. Simultaneously, an album dedicated to the violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter was released with the world premiere recordings of works by Wolfgang Rihm (Lichtes Spiel and Dyade), Sebastian Currier (Time Machines) and Krzysztof Penderecki (Duo concertante): a further tribute to her high devotion to contemporary music.

In 2008, the artist established the "Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation" whose objective is the further strengthening of the worldwide promotion of top young musical talents: a task the violinist set herself in 1997 with the foundation of the "Freundeskreis der Anne-Sophie Mutter Stiftung e.V." [Friends of the Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation]. The work on current-day medical and social problems is also important to Anne-Sophie Mutter. She supports these concerns with regular charity concerts. Thus she will, for example, play for the "Stiftung [Foundation] Lichtblick Hasenbergl" for the renovation of the Staatsoper [State opera house] unter den Linden and for the "Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation".

In 2012, Anne-Sophie Mutter was bestowed the Atlantic Council's Distinguished Aristic Leadership Award. She was awarded the Brahms prize, the Erich-Fromm prize and the Gustav-Adolf prize for her social involvement in 2011. In 2010 the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim awarded her an honorary doctorate; in 2009 she was distinguished with the European St. Ullrichs prize as well as the Cristobal Gabarron award. In 2008, Anne-Sophie Mutter was bestowed the International Ernst von Siemens Music prize and the Leipzig Mendelssohn prize. The violinist has received the Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz [Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany], the French Order of the Legion of Honour, the Bavarian Order of Honour, the Großes Österreichisches Ehrenzeichen [Grand Austrian State Decoration of Honour] as well as numerous other awards.

For further information -