Mozart Symphonies in Official UK Classical Chart

15 April 2009

"Mozart Symphonies 38-41" has re-entered the Official UK Classical chart over a year after it first entered the chart (where it stayed in the Top 20 for 4 weeks!).  Following the double-award win at the 2009 BBC Music Magazine awards the bestselling double album of Mozart's four late symphonies is back in the UK Classical chart at Number 4.

The "magnificent", "exceptional" and "irresistible" recording has been a favourite with the critics and public alike since its release in March 2008.  Here are just a few of the accolades awarded to Sir Charles Mackerras and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra for their wonderful performances. 

Awards Won

  • Disc of the Year Award 2009. BBC Music Magazine
  • Orchestral Award 2009. BBC Music Magazine
  • Symphonic Works Award 2009. Midem Classical Awards
  • Choc de l'année 2008. Le Monde de la Musique



  • Best Classical Record of 2008. The Sunday Times
  • Best Classical Record of 2008. HMV Choice
  • A disc of the year. BBC Radio 3's CD Review
  • A disc of the year. BBC Radio 4's Front Row
  • A disc of the year. Classic FM's The New CD Show
  • Gramophone Recommended. Gramophone
  • Classical CD of the Week. The Sunday Times
  • Orchestral Disc of the Month. BBC Music Magazine
  • Album of the Month. HiFi News


Five star reviews

5 stars The Sunday Times

5 stars The Guardian

5 stars The Times

5 stars Audiophile Audition

5 stars The Herald

5 stars BBC Music Magazine

5 stars

5 starsThe Guardian

5 stars

5 stars The Week

Scottish Chamber OrchestraScottish Chamber Orchestra
Sir Charles MackerrasSir Charles Mackerras
Mozart: Symphonies 38-41Mozart: Symphonies 38-41