Claire Martin - The Early Years Anthology - Norhern Echo

This very attractive package brings us the first four albums recorded by Claire Martin between 1991 and 1997. Her accompanists include Jim Mullen and Jonathan Gee on "The Waiting Game" and "Devil May Care", Mullen and Steven Melling on "Old Boyfriends" and Gareth Williams on "Make This City Ours". A varied programme including standards, contemporary songs and originals shows off a distinctive voice.

Northern Echo
19 November 2008