Robert Burns Series - Auld Lang Syne - Rock'n'Reel

Auld Lang Syne is a collection of popular songs written by Robert Burns and is a sampler for the acclaimed series "The Songs of Robert Burns" released by Linn Records. As an introduction to the world of Burns and the epic series, it works with its concentration on the melodic element of Burns' writing and avoids the temptation to resort to tartan overkill. Featured singers in the roll call include Davy Steele, Tony Cuffe, Christine Kidd, Jamie Mcmenemy, James Malcolm and more, ensuring unquestionable quality and integrity. Musically the arrangements are sparse and appropriate in keeping with the spirit of the project. Auld Lang Syne restores Robert Burns' work to its rightful importance.

01 March 1999