Related Reviews
Audiophile Audition
'The musical salute to the 40th Anniversary of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra assembles three glowing performances from master musicians.'
more >>
Classic FM 'Drive'
‘Together Ticciati and the strings of the SCO bring out the work's radiantly rich tones.’
more >>
The Observer
4 Stars
'...sparkling performances...'
more >>
Sinfini Music
4 Stars
‘…the result is a gorgeous, gleaming account.’
more >>
The Telegraph
4 Stars
'luminous beauty'
more >>

Scottish Chamber Orchestra - 40th Anniversary Edition - The Sunday Times

04 February 2014
The Sunday Times
Paul Driver

This marvellous disc marks the SCO's 40th anniversary by representing its last three principal conductors with a performance apiece. The incumbent, Robin Ticciati, offers Wagner's 'Siegfried Idyll', to whose exquisite Romantic rubato he is well attuned. By way of a magically atmospheric contrast, Joseph Swensen gives us Sibelius's second suite of incidental music for 'The Tempest': late poetic miniatures. Crowning the sequence, Charles Mackerras conducts Mozart's Symphony No 41, the 'Jupiter'. The Orchestra shows itself brilliantly adapted to any style and conductor - provided, anyway, they have more than a smack of genius. 
Bookmark and Share

Related Links

Joseph SwensenJoseph Swensen
Robin TicciatiRobin Ticciati
Scottish Chamber OrchestraScottish Chamber Orchestra
Sir Charles MackerrasSir Charles Mackerras
Scottish Chamber Orchestra: 40th Anniversary EditionScottish Chamber Orchestra: 40th Anniversary Edition