Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava

Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava

Janacek Philharmonic Ostrava credit. Dita Pepe

The Janáček Philharmonic, based in Ostrava, is one of the leading symphonic orchestras from the Czech Republic. Maintaining long-established orchestral traditions, its distinctive bohemian sound and progressive repertoire it is held to the highest esteem by audiences and critics alike.


    Officially established in 1954, the Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava soon developed into one of the rising Czech symphonic ensembles. Many world-renowned conductors and soloists have collaborated with the orchestra: Sir Charles Mackerras, Karel Ančerl, Mariss Jansons, Sviatoslav Richter and Rudolf Firkušný, to name but a few.

    The Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava has toured Europe extensively, as well as China and South Korea. It has performed in the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, Musikverein in Vienna, Philharmonie in Berlin and Gasteig in Munich, among others. Artists who have played with the orchestra include Lisa Batiashvili, Midori, Sergey Khachatryan, Anna Netrebko, Jonas Kaufmann, Patricia Petibon, Rolando Villazón, Piotr Beczała, Boris Giltburg, Lukáš Vondráček and Federico Colli.

    The prominent Russian conductor Vassily Sinaisky is the Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava. Petr Popelka is the Principal Guest Conductor. The orchestra has cooperated with conductors such as Michail Jurowski, Antoni Wit, Jakub Hrůša, Krzysztof Penderecki and Stanislav Kochanovsky.